Subcommittees and Task Forces of the Governor's Behavioral Health Services Planning Council

Much of the work of the Kansas Council is done by citizen volunteers that are members of subcommittees established to report and make recommendations to the Council. The work of these subcommittees has been vital to recommendations of multiple legislative commissions, including the Mental Health Modernization and Reform Committee.

Through the Council, these Subcommittee recommendations are reported to the Secretary of KDADS. The Council may also form special task forces to make recommendations. 

Previous special task forces established under recommendation of the Secretary of KDADS included: 

 Currently, the Council receives updates and recommendations from the following subcommittees: 

Subcommittee Chair Email Liaison Meeting Schedule
Children's Subcommittee Sandra Berg[email protected] Gary Henault;
Linda Buchheister
2nd Friday of every 2nd month 10-2
Employment Subcommittee   On Hiatus
Evidence-Based Practices Subcommittee Lori Libel
Rachel Erpelding
[email protected]
[email protected]
Shaun Dierker (interim)3rd Tuesday of each month 8:30-10
Housing & Homelessness Subcommittee Matthew Faulk[email protected] Ashley Arganbright; Jonathan Pendergrass 3rd Friday of every other month 9:30-11:30
Justice Involved Youth & Adults Subcommittee Sherrie Vaugn
Brandi Lane
[email protected]
[email protected]
Charles Bartlett 1st Tuesday of each month 1-3
Kansas Citizens' Committee on Alcohol and Other Drugs Stacy Conner[email protected] Paul Hunt2nd Wednesday of each month 9-10:30 (Virtual-only even months; hybrid odd months)
Peer Subcommittee John Agnew
Nick Casarona
[email protected]
 [email protected]
 3rd Tuesday of every month, 12-1:30 (Teams)
Problem Gambling Brian Rixon
Stephenie Roberts
[email protected]
[email protected]   
Ronna Corliss1st Monday of every month 12-1
Prevention Subcommittee

Callie Dyer
Aonya Barnett 

[email protected]
[email protected]
Stephanie Rhinehart 2nd Thursday of every month 9-10:30 (Zoom)
Rural & Frontier Subcommittee Audra Goldsmith
Monica Kurz
Ian Brown
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
Charles Bartlett 4th Thursday of every 2 months 9-12
Service Members, Veterans, and Family Members Subcommittee

Kathy Shepard
Janelle Stang

[email protected]
[email protected]

Laura Brake 2nd Monday of every month 10-12
Tobacco Subcommittee  Daniel Craig[email protected]  Vacant1st Thursday of every month 2-3

 A new subcommittee representing the Aging population will begin convening in 2023.

 If you are interested in participating in one of the subcommittees, please contact [email protected] and she will forward your information to the subcommittee chair.

Subcommittee Annual Reports


2023 Peer Support Annual Presentation

Nov 27, 2023, 14:58 PM by Diana Marsh
Download (pptx) 340 KB

2022 Reports

Title Type Size
Children's Subcommittee Annual Presentation pdf 367 KB Download
Childrens Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 900 KB Download
EBP Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 562 KB Download
Evidence-Based Practice Subcommittee Annual Presentation pdf 354 KB Download
Housing & Homelessness Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 282 KB Download
JIYA Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 230 KB Download
KCC Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 595 KB Download
Prevention Subcommittee Annual Presentation pdf 403 KB Download
Prevention Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 244 KB Download
Problem Gambling Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 566 KB Download
Rural & Frontier Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 384 KB Download
Rural and Frontier Subcommittee Annual Presentation pdf 1400 KB Download
Service Member, Veterans, and Family Members Subcommittee Annual Presentation pdf 596 KB Download
SMVF Subcommittee Annual Report 2022 pdf 135 KB Download
Tobacco Subcommittee Charter Document pdf 114 KB Download

2021 Reports

2020 Reports

2019 Reports

2018 Reports

2017 Reports

2016 Reports

2015 Reports

2014 Reports

2013 Reports