State Hospitals

Dr. Mike Dixon, Commissioner

Dr. Mike DixonThe State Hospital Commission was created on June 2, 2019, by the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Aging and Disability Services. The State Hospital Commission is responsible for providing leadership, guidance, direction, oversight, training and support to the five state hospitals:

  • Kansas Neurological Institute
  • Parsons State Hospital and Training Center
  • Larned State Hospital
  • Osawatomie State Hospital
  • Adair Acute Care on Osawatomie State Hospital’s campus

The Commission provides day to day management and collaboration with Superintendents and executive staff at the State Hospitals, ensuring compliance with conditions of participation for certification with Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) and accreditation with the Joint Commission. The Commission is vital in strengthening stakeholder relations to increase the services provided in the community for individuals with intellectual disabilities and or behavioral health needs.