PEAK: Quality Improvement through Person-Centered Care

The Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) is committed to ensuring high-quality services for Kansas nursing home residents. For nearly 20 years, KDADS has been recognizing nursing homes for successfully implementing person-centered care, commonly known as Promoting Excellent Alternatives in Kansas, or PEAK. From the beginning of PEAK, KDADS pursued two primary goals:
  1. To award and recognize homes accomplishing significant culture change; and
  2. To educate others about the culture change movement and the accomplishments being made in Kansas.

Beginning in 2012, PEAK expanded from a recognition program to a pay-for-performance Medicaid program in an effort to speed up the rate of adoption of person-centered care practices in Kansas nursing homes. The program had an overwhelming response, with 125 homes enrolling in PEAK 2.0 the first year. It was then that KDADS arranged a partnership with the Kansas State University (KSU) Center on Aging to administer the program.

KDADS continues to manage payment of incentives earned, but the KSU Center on Aging handles program administration including application, education and evaluation. Please visit the KSU Center on Aging website to learn more about the program.

For further information on the program contact: Trescia Power or the PEAK Team at [email protected].

PLEASE NOTE: There is a new address for contacting KSU PEAK: [email protected]

PEAK Conference

PEAK ConferenceThe 2nd Annual PEAK Conference will be held at the KSU Student Union in Manhattan.
  • Oct. 17, 2023
  • 9 AM - 4 PM
  • Kansas State University Student Union Grand Ballroom
    918 N M.L.K. Jr. Drive
    Manhattan, KS 66506
Registration is NOW OPEN!

To Register: KACE - 2023 PEAK - Person-Centered Care Conference

  • This registration will provide the attendee with 6 hours of continuing education credit towards operator, licensed nursing home administrator or nursing licenses. Lunch is also provided for this registration type.
  • This registration will provide the attendee with full access to all conference education sessions but does not provide continuing education credits towards professional licenses.

Kansas PEAK Advisory Team

The Advisory Team shall council KDADS leadership in championing person-centered care and provide guidance regarding specific PEAK-related issues while providing suggestions to promote a continually improving program.

Update on SFY24 PEAK Advisory Members

The SFY24 PEAK Advisory members have been selected and welcome letters will be sent out in the next couple of weeks. The first meeting will be held August 2023.

PEAK Award Winners 2023

  • Mentor Homes - Level 5

  • Sustained Person-Centered Care Homes - Level 4

  • Person-Centered Care Home - Level 3