Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

The PACE program is designed to promote the provision of quality, comprehensive health services for older adults. The primary care physicians and interdisciplinary team of professionals provide and coordinate all services for you, providing a “one stop shopping” for your needs. Most services are provided in your home and at the PACE Center. 

Please click here to view a PACE Program Overview.

How Can I Join PACE?

You can join PACE if you meet the following conditions:
  • You are 55 years of age or older
  • You live in the service area of a PACE organization: Current PACE areas in these counties: Dickinson, Douglas, Ellsworth, Harvey, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Nemaha, Osage, Ottawa, Reno, Rice, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Pottawatomie, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte
  • You are certified by the state in which you live as meeting the need for the nursing home level of care
  • You are able to live safely in the community with the help of PACE services when you join

What Does PACE Cost?

What You Pay for PACE Depends on Your Financial Situation

If you qualify for Medicare, all Medicare-covered services are paid for by Medicare. If you also qualify for your State’s Medicaid program, you will either have a small monthly payment or pay nothing for the long-term care portion of the PACE benefit. If you don’t qualify for Medicaid you will be charged a monthly premium to cover the long-term care portion the PACE benefit and a premium for Medicare Part D drugs. However, in PACE there is never a deductible or copayment for any drug, service, or care approved by the PACE team.

PACE Updates

KDADS is in the process of overseeing the expansion of the PACE program in Kansas from eight to 59 counties. 

In the Topeka area, Midland Care, which began offering PACE 2007, provides services in Douglas, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Lyon, Marshall, Nemaha, Osage, Shawnee, Pottawatomie, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte Counties.  Midland has also been awarded the areas to expand in Brown, Atchison and Doniphan counties.     

Other PACE providers include Via Christie in Sedgwick County and Bluestem Communities of Hesston, established PACE in McPherson, Ottawa, Lincoln, Ellsworth, Saline, Dickinson, Rice, Marion, Reno and Harvey counties that includes Newton, Hutchinson, Salina, Junction City and Manhattan. Bluestem has also been awarded areas to expand in Jewell, Republic, Washington, Mitchell, Clay, Cloud, Riley, Geary, Morris and Chase counties.

Currently there are 562 PACE participants in Kansas, but we expect that to expand to more than 700 over the next of the year, and continue to increase during the expansion.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who determines what services I get?

  • Who provides the services?

  • Who do I contact for services?

  • How can PACE benefit me?

  • How do I pay for PACE?

PACE Resources