KANSAS DEPARTMENT FOR AGING & DISABILITY SERVICES Board of Adult Care Home Administrators APPLICATION FOR

RECIPROCAL ADULT CARE HOME ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE

K.A.R. 26-38-7 outlines requirements for obtaining Kansas licensure through reciprocity. Please review the Reciprocity Application Instructions for details.

The four options for reciprocal license are briefly described below and impact how this application is completed.

| Option A | Documentation that the criteria of the equivalent to the current Kansas examir | | | | re substantially |
|----------------------|--|---|--------------------|--------------------|--------------------------------|
| Option B | Documentation that the applicant has be applicant annually attained at least 2,08 | een continuously licensed during 80 hours of experience as an ac | the preceding five | ve years during | which time the ased adult care |
| Option C Option D | home or a licensed long-term care unit or Minimum baccalaureate degree and cor Documentation of current Health Servic licensing board or agency | npletion of an approved 480-hoເ | | | ous nature by a |
| | | LICENSE FEE | | | |
| | | eciprocal: \$ 220.00 ** | | | |
| | refundable fee made payable to KDADS. C sed for payment of fees. Charge authorizat | | ent by mail with a | | |
| (For mi | Mi litary applicants and spouses - please provid | litary Considerations de a copy of your United States I | Uniformed Servi | ces Identification | on Card) |
| Are you the sp | oouse of an active-duty military service mem | ber and wish to receive expedite | ed processing or | n that basis? | |
| Are you an act | tive-duty military service member? | _ | | | |
| | ner military service member?s, please provide a copy of your DD214 form | with Characterization of Service |) . | | |
| | | LICANT INFORMATION nts must complete this section) | | | |
| Name: | Firs | <u>.</u> .t | Mi | Oth | ner |
| | | | ••• | o. | |
| Address | Street / Route / Box / Apt # | City | | State | Zip |
| Email: | | | | | |
| Birthdate: | / | | | | |
| Phone: work _ | home | | cell | | |
| (Ai | ttach a copy of your Social Security Card | or document bearing your na | me and Social | Security numb | ber) |
| | | ISE IN ANOTHER STATE nts must complete this section) | | | |
| List all states i | in which you have ever held an adult care ho | ome administrator license: | | | |
| State: | Sta | te: | | State: | |
| | | | | | |
| · | Sta | te: | | State: | |

REFERENCES

(All applicants must submit two letters of reference)

K.A.R. 26-38-3(b) requires that each licensure applicant submit, on Board approved forms, one letter of reference from a licensed adult care home administrator, in state or out of state, and one letter of reference from another person not related to the candidate as defined under "Relative" in K.A.R. 26-38-1(I).

K.A.R. 26-38-1(I) defines Relative to mean any of the following: (1) A spouse, parent, child, or sibling; (2) a sibling as denoted by the prefix "half"; (3) a parent, child, or sibling as denoted by the prefix "step"; (4) a foster child; (5) an uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece; (6) any

parent or child of a preceding or subsequent generation as denoted by the prefix "grand" or "great"; or (7) a parent, child, or sibling related by marriage as denoted by the suffix "in-law". For the purposes of this definition, A "member of a household" means a person having legal residence in, or living in, an individual's place of residence.

EQUIVALENT LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

(Applies only to applicants applying using Option A)

K.A.R. 26-38-7 allows Kansas licensure through reciprocity for applicants who provide documentation that the criteria of the licensing State are substantially equivalent to the current Kansas examination, education and training experience as specified in K.A.R. 26-38-2 and K.A.R. 26-38-4.

Please carefully review the regulations listed above to determine if Option A is the appropriate choice for your reciprocity application. A brief summary of current Kansas license requirements follows:

- γPassing score on the NAB examination and State law examination.
- γMinimum baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited college or university.
- γ Completion of a 480-hour long-term care administration practicum conducted by a board approved provider

If utilizing Option A please list below the State in which you are/were licensed which has substantially equivalent requirements to current Kansas licensure requirements:

| Kansas licensure requirements: | | |
|---|--|------------------------|
| | Licensing State | |
| <u>Documentation</u> that the criteria of experience <u>must also be provided</u> . | the licensing State are substantially equivalent to the current Kansas exam, e | education and training |
| | WORK EXPERIENCE | |

(Applies only to applicants applying using Option B)

(A R. 26-38-7 allows Kansas licensure through reciprocity for applicants who have been conti

K.A.R. 26-38-7 allows Kansas licensure through reciprocity for applicants who have been continuously licensed during the preceding five years and during that time, the applicant annually attained at least 2,080 hours of experience as an administrator of record of a licensed adult care home or a licensed long-term care unit of a hospital.

If utilizing Option B for reciprocal licensure, please list the relevant employment information for the preceding five years:

The applicant shall also provide documentation of the work experience listed above as required by K.A.R. 26-38-7.

| EDUCATION to applicants applying using Option C) | |
|---|--|
| Degree | Date Conferred |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | to applicants applying using Option C) Degree |

If applicable, transcripts must be sent by the college or university directly to Health Occupations Credentialing to the Board mailing address provided below or by email to KDADS.Licensure@ks.gov. If you are filing for testing under KSA-65-3504(b), request, complete, and submit Application for Exemption of Formal Education

PRACTICUM

(Applies only to applicants applying using Option C)

Each applicant utilizing Option C must satisfactorily complete a board approved long-term care administration practicum of not less than 480 hours.

| Practicum Sponsor | Coordinator | |
|-------------------|-------------|--|
| | | |

College/University/Sponsor

| Preceptor | | Preceptor# | |
|---|--|--|---|
| Practicum Beginning Date | | Ending Date | |
| | | re Certification using Option D) | |
| K.A.R. 26-38-7(c)(1) requires the applicant have a current he K.A.R. 26-38-7(c)(2) requires the applicant has not had any cagency against the candidate. | | | a licensing board or |
| | Facility Typ | ete this section) | _ |
| Please indicate the type of facility in which you are licensed to (NF, S | o be an Adm SNF, AL, RHO | | ou hold licensure. |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| (All applican If you answer yes to any misdemeanor/felony/disciplinary q this Board, or your application will be considered incompl disciplinary action requirements, please contact Karen Ton for an explanation regarding the documentation that in | uestion(s) on lete and canr rbert at 785.2 must be subr | plete this section) In the application the required docure Inot be processed. If you have quesion to the processed of you have quesion to the processed of the processed of the process of | ions about the conviction or .gov. Review the information |
| Have you ever been convicted of a felony? Have you ever been convicted of a Class A misdemeanor? (any crimes as listed in K.A.R.26-38-5) | Yes | | |
| Have you had a judgement of settlement in civil record? (as described in K.A.R. 26-38-5) | Yes | No | |
| Do you have any pending criminal case against you for a feld | ony or Class <i>i</i> | A misdemeanor offense? Yes | No |
| Do you presently have any physical or mental conditions or usafely practice as an Administrator of record for an Adult Car | e Home? Ye : | or alcohol that could affect your abil s No bbmit an explanatory letter and p | |
| Has disciplinary action ever been taken against an adult care license, a mental health care license or a social worker license Yes No (If yes, please provide specific details and copies of all re | e home admir se held by yo | nistrator license, a professional or c u, whether issued by this state or a | ccupational health care |
| Have you ever had an Adult Care Home Administrator license a licensing authority? Yes No (If yes, please provide specific details and copies of all re | | • | ly or privately censured by |
| Are you registered, certified, or licensed in any other professi | | | |
| If yes, please list: | | | |
| Have you ever voluntarily surrendered any professional licentyes No | se while an ii | nvestigation or discipline case was | pending? |

Submit application, fee and supporting documents to: KDADS.Licensure@ks.gov

Health Occupations Credentialing
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability
Services 503 S Kansas Ave, Suite 300C
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3404

KDADS HEALTH OCCUPATIONS CREDENTIALING

Adult Care Home Administrator Checklist for Submission

License by Reciprocity

| 0 | Complete and sign application | | |
|---|-------------------------------------|---------------------------|-----------------|
| | Found at www.kdads.ks.go | v/hoc | |
| | Select Applications & Form | s from left side menu | |
| | Scroll to Adult Care Home | Administrator | |
| | Select Reciprocal Application | on Pack | |
| 0 | Include payment for application fe | 2 | |
| | Pro-rated fees for licensure | e in the month of: | |
| | July \$220 | August \$212 | September \$208 |
| | October \$204 | November \$200 | December \$196 |
| | January \$192 | February \$188 | March \$184 |
| | April \$180 | May \$176 | June \$172 |
| | Found at www.kdads.ks.go | v/hoc | |
| | Select Application & Forms | from the left side menu | |
| | Select Credit Card Fee Payr | ment from Universal Form | s heading |
| | *For payment by V | ISA or MASTERCARD ONL | Υ |
| 0 | Request official transcript (minimu | m bachelor's degree) to b | e submitted |

Submit two reference letters – one MUST be from a licensed administrator
 Request to take the State Exam
 Request licensure verification from state(s) you hold or have held licensure

All materials can be sent via email to: KDADS.Licensure@ks.gov or regular mail to:
Health Occupations Credentialing
503 S Kansas Ave, Suite 300c Topeka
KS 66603-3414

REFERENCE LETTER FOR LICENSURE AS AN ADULT CARE HOME ADMINISTRATOR

The candidate for licensure as an adult care home administrator is required to submit two letters of reference: one from an adult care home administrator and one from another person not related to the candidate as defined under "nepotism" in K.A.R 26-38-1(l). Please use this form when submitting your reference. Email to KDADS.Licensure@ks.gov or mail directly to Health Occupations Credentialing, 503 S Kansas Ave, Topeka, Kansas 66603. If you have questions, please contact Karen Torbert KDADS.Licensure@ks.gov.

| Candidate's Name | |
|---|---|
| credibility, reliability, respect for others initiative, and commitment to the profes | vior in the following areas: good judgment, integrity, honesty, fairness s, respect for the laws of the state and nation, self-discipline, self-evaluation ssion of adult care home administration and its values and ethics. Does the moral standards and fitness required for working as an adult care home |
| Yes No | |
| If your answer is negative, explain in de | tail. Please relate your answer to the behavioral characteristics listed above. |
| | |
| | |
| If you desire, please add any comments Administrators in deciding to approve the | or information which you believe will aid the Board of Adult Care Home ne candidate's application for licensure. |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| Are you a licensed adult care home adm | inistrator? |
| Are you related to the candidate as a fan | nily member or as a member of a household? |
| | ove is given with the understanding that it will be utilized for purposes of censure as an adult care home administrator and is true and correct to the best |
| Date | |
| Name (Please print.) | Signature |
| Address | |
| Phone | Email address (optional) |

KANSAS DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND DISABILITY SERVICES SURVEY, CERTIFICATION AND CREDENTIALING COMMISSION HEALTH OCCUPATIONS CREDENTIALING CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FOR VISA OR MASTERCARD

| -1 | and District | |
|--|--|---|
| Plea | se Print | or: |
| | As payment of fees for the state of the stat | liology, Diet, Admin, Operator |
| Certification CNA/CMA/HHA ON | | enter credential number if known or X if new |
| | Circle Type to Select | enter credential number if known of X if new |
| Course # | Temporary | |
| | | Speech Language Pathologist |
| Certified Nurse Aide | Initial/Full | |
| Interstate Certified Home Health Aide | Reciprocal | Audiologist |
| Certified Medication Aide | Recipiocal | |
| CMA Renewal | Renewal | Dietitian |
| Reschedule State Test | T tonowai | Add Occal Harra Administrator |
| Allied | Reinstatement | Adult Care Home Administrator |
| | | Operator Registration |
| Fee amount paid | | Operator Negistration |
| | \$ | Fee amount paid |
| FACILITY USE ONLY FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: | | |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: | Criminal Record Check · Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | se Only |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: | Criminal Record Check · Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | se Only |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: | Criminal Record Check · Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | se Only |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: | Criminal Record Check · Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | se Only |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: OR MASTERCARD NUMBER: | Criminal Record Check · Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | se Only EXPIRATION |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: OR MASTERCARD NUMBER: TED NAME OF CARD HOLDER (R | Criminal Record Check · Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | EXPIRATION/_ CHORIZED SIGNATURE (REQUIRED) |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: OR MASTERCARD NUMBER: TED NAME OF CARD HOLDER (R | Criminal Record Check Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | EXPIRATION/_ CHORIZED SIGNATURE (REQUIRED) |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: OR MASTERCARD NUMBER: TED NAME OF CARD HOLDER (R Credit Card of | Criminal Record Check Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | EXPIRATION/_ CHORIZED SIGNATURE (REQUIRED) |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: OR MASTERCARD NUMBER: TED NAME OF CARD HOLDER (R | Criminal Record Check Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ | EXPIRATION/_ CHORIZED SIGNATURE (REQUIRED) |
| FACILITY NAME AND ID FOR CRC: OR MASTERCARD NUMBER: TED NAME OF CARD HOLDER (R Credit Card of | Criminal Record Check Facility U Number of names checked: \$10.00 per name Total Paid \$ EQUIRED AUT Company service fee of 3.04% w | EXPIRATION/_ THORIZED SIGNATURE (REQUIRED) Till be added to the total |