
License #:  ___________
Lic. End Date:  10/31/2020 

CEs Due:    See Instruction Sheet 
Renewal Fee:   $135.00 

During this licensure period, has your license, certification, or registration issued by Kansas or another state or entity 
been denied, refused for renewal, suspended, revoked, or subjected to any disciplinary action, or have you been 
convicted of a crime by any state or federal court in the United States? 
  [      ] No      [      ] Yes (attach explanation) 

Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology Licensure Renewal Notice 
Your license will expire October 31, 2020.  Renewal materials must be postmarked by October 

31, 2020 to avoid a $50.00 late fee. 

Name___________________________________ 

Address _________________________________ 

City,State,Zip______________________________ 

Email ____________________________________ 

NOTE:  ONLY use this application form if NOT using the online renewal process. 

Disciplinary/Conviction History: 

Continuing Education Attestation: 
The following attestation statement regarding continuing education must be signed to renew your license: 

By signing this application, I affirm that I have completed the continuing education required by regulation.  I 
understand that an audit will be conducted of a percentage of all applications, and should my application be 
subject to audit, I will provide all documentation as requested.  I understand that my license will not be renewed 
until all required documentation is reviewed and approved.  I also know that falsifying any of this documentation 
may result in disciplinary action against my license. 

Signature    Date ____________       

If NOT renewing please indicate below: 
____I do not intend to renew my Kansas Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology license at this time because: 

     ________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Please return this application to the address below so we can update your records) 

Before mailing your renewal application, be sure that you have: 
• Enclosed a non-refundable fee of $135 made payable to KDADS; or completed and enclosed the

authorization form to charge fees to your Visa or Master Card.
• Answered the disciplinary question
• Signed the continuing education attestation

NOTE: As mentioned above, applications postmarked after 10-31-2020 and before 11-30-2020 can still  
be processed for renewal if the required CE was obtained by 10-31-2020 but a $50 late fee must be paid 
in addition to the $135 renewal fee.  After 11-30-2020, licenses are considered lapsed and would have  
to be reinstated.  The fee for reinstatement is $270. 

Health Occupations Credentialing ●503 S Kansas Ave ● Topeka, KS 66603-3404 



KANSAS DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND DISABILITY SERVICES 
SURVEY, CERTIFICATION AND CREDENTIALING COMMISSION 

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS CREDENTIALING 
CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FOR VISA OR MASTERCARD 

This charge is for: _____________________________________________________________________ 
Please Print Facility Name / Name of individual for Certification or Licensing 

As payment of fees for: 
SELECT APPROPRIATE OPTION 

Certification Criminal Record Check 
Course #: ___________ Number of 

names checked: x $10.00 per name = $ Total paid 

Certified Nurse Aide 

Certified Home Health Aide Licensing 
Certified Medication Aide Credential # Speech-Language Pathology 

Reschedule State Test Audiology 

Dietitian 

Adult Care Home Administrator 

$ Fee amount paid Operator Registration 
$ Fee amount paid 

Credit Card company service fee of 3.04% will be added to the total 

VISA Card number (required) _________________________________________________________ 

Expiration Date (required)  _________________________________ 

OR 

MASTERCARD Number (required) __________________________________________________________ 

Expiration Date (required)  ___________________________________ 

________________________________________ ___________________________________________ 
Name of Cardholder (required) Signature (required) 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY: 

AMOUNT__________   SERVICE FEE_________ TOTAL CHARGED__________________ 



Enclosed is your Kansas speech-language pathology and/or audiology licensure card which verifies your license 
until expiration October 31.   At least thirty days prior to expiration of your license the department will mail A renewal 
reminder to the address on file. 

CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS REQUIRED:  To renew your license, accumulate continuing education as 
outlined in the provisions of Kansas Administrative Regulations (KAR) 28-61-5.  Each licensee whose license period 
is 20 to 24 months is required to obtain 20 hours of CE between the effective and expiration date of the license.   
Pro-Rated Continuing Education Hours   
Each licensee whose initial licensure period is less than 20 months is required to obtain not less than one hour of 
CE for each month in the initial licensure period. 

Month in which license was issued Total CE hours required for renewal

Nov (exp 10/31 2 yrs later-24 mo license) 20 hrs 

Dec (23 month license) 20 hrs 

Jan (22 month license) 20 hrs 

Feb (21 month license) 20 hrs 

Mar (20 month license) 20 hrs 

Apr (19 month license) 19 hrs 

May (18 month license) 18 hrs 

June (17 month license) 17 hrs 

July (16 month license) 16 hrs 

Aug (15 month license) 15 hrs 

Sept (14 month license) 14 hrs

Oct (13 month license) 13 hrs

METHODS FOR EARNING CE:  Please refer to the Methods for Earning Continuing Education sheet enclosed.  
For a listing of approved continuing education programs and approved continuing education sponsorships visit our 
website at www.kdads.ks.gov. 

CE TRANSCRIPT FORM & RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS:  It is the licensee’s responsibility to maintain 
records of continuing education.  A Continuing Education Transcript (CET) is on the back of this form to assist you 
in tracking your CE.  You must keep all CE documents (certificates, course content, objectives, time-frame agenda)  
Your renewal will be subject to audit at the time of renewal according to department procedures.  A copy of the 
allowable Content and Objectives is printed on the back of the Methods for Earning Continuing Education sheet.  

PRIOR KDADS APPROVAL MAY BE REQUESTED FOR UPCOMING PROGRAMS: If a program is not already 
KDADS approved the licensee may request prior approval.  The Program Application for Prior Approval form along 
with supporting documents must be received by KDADS three weeks prior to the program.  Prior approval is NOT 
required.   

CONTACT INFORMATION:  For licensure questions please contact Wendy Davis at 785/296-0061 or via email at 
wendy.davis@ks.gov 

Health Occupations Credentialing – 503 S Kansas Ave - Topeka KS 66603-3404 

 LICENSE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 



Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Continuing Education Transcript 

Kansas Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology License 

This form may be used as a tool to track your continuing education for 
the next renewal period

A full license, initial and reciprocity, will expire on October 31 of the year that is less than two years from issuance. 
Thereafter, the license will expire biennially.  Acquisition of 20 hours of CE (30 hours for dual licensure) and the renewal 
fee of $135.00 will be required to renew.  Note: Each licensee whose initial licensure period is less than 20 months shall 
be required to obtain not less than one hour of continuing education for each month in the initial licensure period (not less 
than one and one quarter hrs of continuing education for each month for those holding a dual license). 

License # Name 
other last name used 

Licensure Period  From    ____________  To    ______________________

KDADS 
Approval Number 
ONLY required if 

program was 
pre-approved.  If 

not, leave this 
column blank. 

PROGRAM TITLE SPONSOR DATE CLOCK 
HOURS

TOTAL 



METHODS FOR EARNING CONTINUING EDUCATION 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 

Type of Educational Activity Procedure/Definition 

PRIOR APPROVED PROGRAMS SPONSOR OR LICENSEE SUBMITS APPLICATION FOR PRIOR APPROVAL AT LEAST 3 WEEKS 
PRIOR TO THE PROGRAM. 

Workshops, seminars, and educational sessions The department reviews activity for content and clock hours (rounded down to nearest one-half hour) 
sponsor provides verification of attendance documenting program approval number and hours attended. 

Self-directed study courses: audio tapes, video 
tapes, study kits, digital video discs (DVDs) and 
internet-based offerings. 

Must have examination or measurement tool to determine successful completion of course.  Clock hours 
awarded as determined by sponsor.  Courses must be sponsored by nationally recognized professional 
organization. 

LONG TERM CE SPONSORSHIPS 

www.kdads.ks.gov/hoc Check this site for lists of KDADS approved sponsorships and prior approved CE programs. 

OTHER PROGRAMS

Programs, workshops, seminars, poster sessions, 
educational activities. 

Content and objectives must be related to the practice of speech-language pathology and audiology as 
defined by KSA 65-650(c) and (f). 
Poster Sessions: one-half clock-hour of CE shall be awarded for attendance at two poster displays with a 
maximum of two clock-hours of CE awarded for attendance at poster displays per licensure period. 

College courses by an accredited college or 
university. 

For Credit: 1 semester credit hour = 15 clock hours  For Audit: = 8 clock hours 
   1 trimester credit hour = 14 clock hours        = 7 clock hours 
   1 quarter credit hour    = 10 clock hours  = 5 clock hours 

Preparation and presentation of a new seminar, 
lecture or workshop. 

Two (2) clock hours of continuing education may be awarded for each clock hour of contact between 
presenter and attendant.  Clock hours will be prorated among instructors if presentation has more than one 
instructor; hours awarded for one presentation only. 

Preparation and presentation of a new 
undergraduate or graduate course in 
speech-language or audiology at an accredited 
college or university. 

Six (6) clock hours of credit may be awarded per new course, up to a maximum of 12 clock hours.  Clock 
hours will be prorated if prepared and presented by more than one instructor. 

Supervision of a postgraduate professional 
experience (clinical fellowship year) 

Five (5) clock hours of continuing education shall be awarded for each supervision.  Only one supervision 
may be awarded per licensure period.  Supervisors name and signature must appear on supervisee=s
temporary license application. 

Activities not suitable for subject areas are marketing, personal development, time management, human relations, collective bargaining tours and inservice which is 
considered as part of licensee=s job responsibilities.



CONTENT AND OBJECTIVE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 

Basic Communication Processes: Normal Development and Use of Speech-Language and 
Hearing including but not limited to: 

• anatomic and physiologic bases of the normal development and use of speech, language and
hearing.

• physical bases and processes of the production and perception of speech, language and
hearing.

• linguistic and psycholinguistic variables related to normal development and use of speech,
language and hearing.

• technical, bromedical, engineering and instrumentation information.

Professional Areas: Disorders of Speech, Language and Hearing including but not limited to: 

• various types of communication disorders, their manifestations, classifications and causes.
• evaluation skills, including procedures, techniques and instrumentation for assessment.
• management procedures and principles in habilitation and rehabilitation of communication

disorders.

Related Areas: Understanding human behavior, both normal and abnormal, services available 
from related professions which apply to practice of speech-language pathology, 
audiology or both including but not limited to: 

• theories of learning and behavior
• services available from related professions dealing with persons having disorders of

communication.
• information about professions concerning sensory, physical, emotional, social or intellectual

states of children or adults.
• general principles of program management, professional ethics, clinical supervision, counseling

and interviewing.



KANSAS DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND DISABILITY SERVICES 
NOTICE OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY OR AUDIOLOGY ASSISTANT 

To be completed by the supervising Kansas licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist 
Please complete each time there is a change in assistant and/or each time you renew your license. 

A separate form must be submitted for each assistant.  Photocopy this form as needed. 

The licensure law, KSA 65-6501, defines a speech-language pathology or audiology assistant as an individual who: 

1) meets minimum qualifications established by the Secretary of Aging and Disability Services, which are less than those
required for licensing (see attached KAR 28-61-8)

2) does not act independently; and

3) works under the direction and supervision of a licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist.  The supervisor
must be licensed in the field in which the assistant provides services.

The licensed supervisor is responsible for determining that each assistant under the licensee=s supervision is satisfactorily
qualified and prepared for the duties assigned to the assistant. 

The licensed supervisor must retain and maintain the following records on file: 

• documentation that the assistant possesses a high school diploma or equivalent;

• a record of the assistant’s initial training, including the name of the Kansas licensed speech-language pathologist or
audiologist who conducted the training, the date and content outline of the training;

• a log of ongoing supervised training indicating at least one hour per month, including the name of the licensed
speech-language pathologist or audiologist who conducted the training; the date, time and content outline of training;
and

• copies of written evaluations of the assistant=s performance level.

The documentation described above must be provided to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (the Department) 
upon departmental staff’s request. 

The licensed supervisor must provide the following information to the Department regarding each assistant 
under the licensee’s supervision within 30 days of employment of the assistant. 

TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY  
PART 1 SUPERVISOR’S INFORMATION 

•Supervisor’s license number____________________ Expiration date____________________ 

•Supervisor’s name__________________________________________________________________________________
Last  First MI

•Supervisor’s address________________________________________________________________________________
Street  PO Box  Apt #

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
City  State Zip

•Supervisor’s phone (work)______________________ (home)________________________ 

(OVER) 

TO BE COMPLETED BY ALL LICENSEES WHO SUPERVISE ONE OR MORE ASSISTANTS.  NOTE: READ 
THE ATTACHED COPY OF K.A.R. 28-61-8 TO DETERMINE ASSISTANT STATUS OF ALL SUPPORT 
PERSONNEL, INCLUDING CERTIFIED AUDIOMETRIC TECHNICIANS AND PARAPROFESSIONALS. 



PART 2 ASSISTANT INFORMATION 

•Assistant=s Name____________________________________________________________________________________
Last  First MI

•Assistant=s social security number______________________

•Employed by________________________________________________________________________________________

•Employment Location_________________________________________________________________________________
Street  PO Box

__________________________________________________________________________________ 
City  State                                        Zip

•Date employment began _____/_____/_____ Number of hours working weekly:_______________ 

•Date employment ended _____/_____/_____ (If reporting that an assistant no longer works with you)

•Employment setting is: (indicate one)

___school district/cooperative ___hospital 

___adult care facility ___clinic 

___university ___private practice 

___government health dept. ___other (specify)_______________ 

•Assistant’s highest level of education: (indicate one)

___high school diploma or equivalent 

___undergraduate college credits 

___bachelor=s degree in ___________________________

___advanced degree in____________________________ 

Has the assistant received training prescribed in KAR 28-61-8(a)? 

___Yes ___No 

•If yes, date training completed_____/_____/_____

If no, explain___________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

PART 3 LICENSED SUPERVISOR’S SIGNATURE 

I do hereby attest that the information supplied in this form is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and that I am 
the person described in this form as the Kansas licensed supervisor.  I have read KAR 28-61-8 which regulates 
speech-language pathology and audiology assistants.  The documentation prescribed in KAR 28-61-8 and listed on this form is 
on file.  I further attest that the assistant named in this form will receive ongoing supervised training provided by a Kansas 
licensed Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist for a minimum of one hour per month. 

________________________________________________ ________________________________ 
Licensed Supervisor’s Signature Date  
Send this completed form to: 

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS CREDENTIALING 
503 S KANSAS AVE 
TOPEKA KS 66603 



28-61-8. ASSISTANTS. 

(a) Each speech-language pathology assistant and each audiology assistant shall meet the
following criteria: 

(1) Have received a high school diploma or equivalent;
(2) complete a training program conducted by a Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or

audiologist.  This training shall include the following: 
(A) Ethical and legal responsibilities;
(B) an overview of the speech, language, and hearing disorders;
(C) response discrimination skills;
(D) behavior management;
(E) charting of behavioral objectives and recordkeeping;
(F) teaching principles, if applicable to the employment setting; and
(G) other skill training as required by the employment setting; and
(3) receive ongoing supervised training by a Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or

audiologist for at least one hour per month. 
(b) Any speech-language pathology assistant or audiology assistant may perform the following:
(1) Follow documented treatment plans and protocols that are planned, designed, and supervised

by a Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist; 
(2) record, chart, graph, report, or otherwise display data relative to client performance, including

hearing screenings, and report this information to a supervising speech-language pathologist or audiologist; 
(3) participate with a Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist in research

projects, public relations programs, or similar activities; 
(4) perform clerical duties, including preparing materials and scheduling activities as directed by a

Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist; 
(5) prepare instructional materials; and
(6) perform equipment checks and maintain equipment, including hearing aids.
(c) A speech-language pathology assistant or audiologist assistant shall not perform any of the

following: 
(1) Perform standardized or nonstandardized diagnostic tests, conduct formal or informatl

evaluations, or provide clinical interpretations of test results; 
(2) participate in parent conferences, case conferences, or any interdisciplinary team without the

presence of a supervising Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist; 
(3) perform any procedure for which the assistant is not qualified, has not been adequately

trained, or is not receiving adequate supervision; 
(4) screen or diagnose clients for feeding or swallowing disorders;

(5) write, develop, or modify a client=s individualized treatment plan in any way;

(6) assist clients without following the individualized treatment plan prepared by a Kansas-licensed
speech-language pathologist or audiologist or without access to supervision; 

(7) sign any formal documents, including treatment plans, reimbursement forms, or reports.  An
assistant shall sign or initial informal treatment notes for review and signing by a Kansas-licensed 
speech-language pathologist or audiologist.   

(8) select clients for services;
(9) discharge a client from services;
(10) make referrals for additional services;
(11) use a checklist or tabulate results of feeding or swallowing evaluations;
(12) demonstrate swallowing strategies or precautions to clients, family, or staff; or
(13) represent that person as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist.
(d) Each assistant shall be supervised by a Kansas-licensed speech-language pathologist or

audiologist.  The supervisor shall be licensed to practice in the field in which the assistant is providing 
services. 

(1) Each supervisor shall be responsible for determining that the assistant is satisfactorily
qualified and prepared for the duties assigned to the assistant. 

(2) Each supervisor shall obtain, retain, and maintain on file documentation of the assistant=s

qualifications and training outlined in subsection (a). 
(3) Only the supervisor shall exercise independent judgment in performing professional

procedures for the client.  The supervisor shall not delegate the exercise of independent judgment to the 
assistant.   



(4) A speech-language pathologist or audiologist who holds a temporary license shall not be
eligible to supervise assistants. 

(e) Each supervisor shall directly supervise at least 10 percent of the assistant=s client contact

time.  No portion of the assistant=s direct client contact shall be counted toward the ongoing training 

required in subsection (a).   No portion of the assistant=s time performing activities under indirect 

supervision shall be counted toward client contact time.  

(f) ADirect supervision@ shall mean the on-site, in-view observation and guidance provided by a

speech-language pathologist or audiologist to an assistant while the assistant performs an assigned 
activity. 

(g) AIndirect supervision@ shall mean the type of guidance, other than direct supervision, that a

speech-language pathologist or audiologist provides to an assistant regarding the assistant=s assigned 

activities.  This term shall include demonstration, record review, and review and evaluation of audiotaped 
sessions, videoteped sessions, or sessions involving interactive television.   

(h) Each supervisor shall, within 30 days of employing an assistant, submit written notice to the

department of the assistant=s name, employment location, and verification that the assistant meets the 

qualifications listed in subsection (a).  Each supervisor shall notify the department of any change in the 
status of an assistant.   

(i) Each supervisor shall perform all of the following tasks:

(1) Develop a system to evaluate the performance level of each assistant under the licensee=s

supervision; 
(2) retain and maintain on file documentation of the performance level of each assistant

supervised; and 

(3) report to the department at the time of the supervisor=s license renewal, on a

department-approved form, the name and employment location of each assistant. 

(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-6503; implementing K.S.A.  65-6501; effective Dec. 28, 1992; amended 
March 16, 2001; amended April 16, 2010.) 
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