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INTRODUCTION 

Medication aide training in 
Kansas The medication aide program in Kansas is 

administered by the Kansas Department for Aging 
and Disability Services, Health Occupations 
Credentialing (HOC) and includes a 75-hour course 
and test. Upon successful completion of the course 
and test, the person’s certification as a medication 
aide will be identified on the Kansas nurse aide 
registry. To continue being eligible for employment, 
the medication aide must successfully complete a 10-
hour continuing education course as described in 
regulation, every two years. If the medication aide 
fails to complete the continuing education course 
during the two years that the medication aide is 
certified, the medication aide may complete the 
continuing education course within one year of the 
eligibility. After that, the aide must successfully 
complete the 75-hour course and test to regain 
employment eligibility. 

The training regulations for medication aides include 
K.A.R. 26-50-30 through 26-50-40. The regulations 
may be downloaded from the KDADS Website. 
Instructors should be sure students know how to 
access the website, regulations and resources.  

75-HOUR MEDICATION 
AIDE COURSE 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

Who may take the course? The student must be 

 at least 18 years of age and

 a nurse aide listed on the Kansas nurse aide
registry with no pending or current prohibitions
against that individual’s certification; or

 a qualified intellectual disability professional
(QIDP) who can provide verification of
employment as a QIDP. QIDP medication aides
may administer medications only to residents in an
Intermediate care facility for people with
intellectual disability.
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 The student who is a nurse aide must be screened 
and tested for reading comprehension at an eighth 
grade reading level prior to enrolling in the course. 
The QIDP does not need to be tested for reading. 

 
Course sponsors must be: post-secondary schools under the jurisdiction of the  

 state board of regents 

 state-operated institutions for people with 
intellectual disability 

 professional health care associations approved by 
the licensing agency 

CMA Instructor  
Requirements Instructors must meet the following requirements: 

 Registered Nurse with current Kansas license with 
no pending or current disciplinary actions against 
that individual’s license  

 Two years of clinical experience as a registered 
nurse 

 
A copy of the instructor approval notice should be 
retained by the instructor and a copy given to each 
sponsor conducting the training to show compliance 
with state laws. 
 
Note: The Instructor Application (available at the 
KDADS website) may be submitted separately or may 
accompany the application for approval of the course. 

 
Clinical Sites Clinical sites must be: 

 licensed adult care homes 

 long- term care units of licensed hospitals 

 state-operated institutions for people with 
intellectual disability 

 Students who receive their clinical experience at 
this site are only eligible to work in an intermediate 
care facility for people with intellectual disability. 
 

Clinical training in  The clinical portion of a medication aide course is 
assisted living or  usually held in a nursing facility or a long-term care  
residential health unit of a hospital. The clinical portion of a medication 
care facilities aide course may be held in an assisted living or 

residential health care facility if the full range of  
clinical tasks and experiences necessary for training 
are available at the assisted living facility or 
residential health care facility, or provided in 
cooperation with a nursing facility. 



5 
 

 
When submitting an Application for Approval of 
Training Course which shows an assisted living 
facility or residential care facility as the clinical site, 
there must be written assurance from the sponsor that 
the performance evaluation tasks will be available to 
be experienced during the clinical portion of the 
course. 
 

COURSE DELIVERY  
 
Who is responsible? Course sponsors and course instructors carry a joint  

responsibility in fulfilling training requirements under 
state regulations. Each approved instructor for a 
medication aide training program is the primary 
person responsible for conducting training and 
assuring competency of trainees. Failure to fulfill any 
of these responsibilities could result in disciplinary 
action against either the course sponsor or the 
approved course instructor or concurrent disciplinary 
action against both the sponsor and the approved 
instructor as described in K.A.R. 26-50-32. 
 

Number of instructors There are instances where the course responsibilities  
are shared between two or more instructors, 
regardless of the number of students. This practice is 
acceptable, providing that the reason for having more 
than one instructor is identified by the sponsor, as 
well as how the responsibilities will be coordinated. 
One instructor must be designated as “lead” instructor 
to fulfill overall teaching responsibilities. Additional 
instructors must be approved by the department, and 
the course application must reflect the additional 
instructors. 
 
Note: The department requires no more than six 
students per one instructor in the clinical setting. 
 

Supplemental instructors Qualified ancillary health professionals may be 
selected by the approved instructor to assist in 
conducting training for medication aides. For 
example, a Kansas licensed pharmacist actively 
working in the pharmacy field may assist the 
instructor by conducting a portion of the training. Any 
person providing training does so under the direct 
supervision of the approved course instructor. 



6 

Students may be supervised for clinical experience by 
a licensed nurse on the staff of the adult care home 
where the clinical practice is taking place. The clinical 
performance as the student administers medications 
is evaluated by the instructor. 

Note: The instructor should be present and easily 
accessible to trainees at all times during instruction. 
Use of qualified ancillary health professionals is for 
enhancement of the course instruction and is not to 
be substituted for the primary responsibilities of the 
approved course instructor. 

What information is 
covered in the course? The Kansas certified medication aide curriculum 

focuses on the geriatric population in an adult long 
term-care versus acute medical care setting. The 
blueprint for the curriculum serves as the basis for the 
state-developed standardized test. 

The curriculum includes information in the following 
areas: 

 current drug classification, action, use, side
effects, adverse reactions, interactions and
nursing care for medications used to treat
commonly recurring health conditions affecting
body systems

 administering prescribed medications, monitoring
oxygen therapy and applying non-sterile dressings

 legal, ethical and current practice

 communication

 documentation

The instructor is responsible for updating the 
curriculum with additional or new information. 

Curriculum The Kansas certified medication aide curriculum must 
be used to develop medication aide courses. The 
subject content provides skills information and 
provides opportunity for an instructor to modify the 
training program as necessary in response to 
perceived trainee learning needs. 
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How to obtain the curriculum The Kansas certified medication aide curriculum can 
be obtained by downloading the document from 
KDADS website. It may be printed and distributed as 
needed. The required forms listed in the manual and 
appendices should be downloaded from the website. 
Sponsors and instructors should check the website 
occasionally for the most current forms. 
 

Text books There is no required text for the medication aide  
training program; however, any supplementary text(s) 
used for the course should have been revised within 
the last five years to reflect current acceptable 
practices and must be noted on the course 
application. 
 
Although not required, it is beneficial to students to 
have a copy of the Kansas certified medication aide 
curriculum to use as reference, both in class and in 
their future work. 
 

Course approval process The approval process includes the following steps: 

 Sponsor or instructor completes the Application 
for Approval of Training (available at website). 

 HOC reviews the application and approves. 
disapproves or returns the application requesting 
additional information. 

 If the course is approved, a course approval 
number is assigned. An approval notice is sent 
with the course approval number. 

 If the course is disapproved, the application is 
returned to the sponsor. 

 
Careful completion helps reduce delays in processing. 
An application must be submitted to the department at 
least three weeks prior to the beginning date of each 
course and must be approved prior to offering the 
course. As a matter of quality assurance and 
fairness, those course applications not meeting 
this time frame will be returned for new (later) 
start dates.  
 

Why is a course approval  The course approval notice with the course approval  
number important? number should be retained by the instructor. This  

course approval number should be referenced on all 
correspondence with the department regarding a 
particular class. 
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Didactic/classroom and  The course consists of 75 hours of instruction:  
clinical instruction didactic/laboratory and clinical sessions. The clinical  

component must include a minimum of 25 hours. 
 
Note: Any change in class hours, dates, content, 
instructors, classroom or clinical sites must be prior 
approved by the department. 
 

Class environment The classroom studies should be provided in a  
 classroom environment with appropriate equipment 
 (computer, LCD projector, white boards, and audio-
 visual supplies etc.) for the instruction of the trainees.
 In licensed adult care homes where state-approved
 training courses are scheduled, there must be a
 separate, designated, closed area for the classroom. 

 
Class times must be within reasonable limits: no more 
than eight hours per day of instruction with lunchtime 
and breaks provided. Students may not be in facilities 
past 9:00 p.m. 
 

Laboratory settings Clinical laboratories for trainee practice and 
performance include the use of a vacant resident 
room or simulated laboratory setting. Such settings 
afford the trainee opportunity to observe instructor 
demonstrations and give return demonstrations of the 
specific skills studied in the didactic/classroom 
setting. The laboratory setting allows the instructor to 
observe and measure trainee performance prior to 
assigning clinical duties. 
 

 
General delivery of the The approved instructor is responsible for ensuring  
training course that the delivery of the didactic/classroom and clinical  

training is appropriate. If the approved course 
instructor is a full-time staff member or Director of 
Nursing (DON) in the adult care home where the 
course is taught, a designated licensed nurse should 
assume the regular staff duties of the approved 
instructor during the times of didactic/classroom and 
clinical instruction. There can be no delegation of 
the instructor’s duties, and the DON must not 
teach while performing duties as DON. The 
approved instructor must be on site and easily 
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accessible to the trainees at all times during 
scheduled course instruction hours. 
 
Throughout the training course, there should be a 
combination of didactic/classroom theory and a 
practice of the tasks and skills learned in the 
supervised laboratory. The more supervised 
practice the instructor can provide, the more 
competence and confidence the trainee will 
achieve in the training program. 
 

Demonstration of Upon completion of the didactic/laboratory sessions of  
competency: Performance the medication aide training program, the instructor 
Evaluations evaluates each trainee’s performance using  

performance evaluations developed by the instructor. 
Sample evaluations appear in the curriculum. 
 
The student must satisfactorily 
demonstrate/simulate/describe all tasks to the 
approved instructor prior to administering medications 
to residents. Instructors must observe satisfactory 
completion of each task. 
 
Not all medication administration skills can be 
demonstrated by trainees in a clinical setting. The 
instructor should allow students to complete as many 
different skills with the residents as possible in the 
clinical setting. 
 
The summary evaluation (in the curriculum) must be 
completed for each student. 
 

Challenging the test Some individuals who are deemed to have equivalent  
training may challenge the test. An approved 
instructor of the Kansas course shall evaluate the 
training for equivalency. Before applying for 
equivalency, each person shall be a Kansas certified 
nurse aide and meet one of the following: 
 

 The person is currently credentialed to administer 
medication and is in good standing in another 
state. The instructor shall confirm competence in 
the administration of medications, applying non-
sterile dressings; legal, ethical and current 
practice; communication and documentation; and 
clinical experience administering medications. 



10 

 The person is currently enrolled in an accredited
practical or professional nursing program and has
successfully completed a course of study in
pharmacology with a grade of C or better.

 The person is currently licensed or has been
licensed as a licensed mental health technician
within 24 months from the date of application with
no pending or current disciplinary actions against
the individual’s license.

 The person whose license is inactive but who has
been licensed within 24 months from the date of
application as a licensed practical nurse or a
licensed registered nurse with no pending or
current disciplinary actions against the individual’s
license.

CERTIFIED MEDICATION 
AIDE TEST Test requirements Students may take the test no 

more than two times before they must repeat the 
course to qualify to test again. Students who repeat 
the course will have two more attempts to complete 
the test. The course maybe repeated as often as 
desired. 

Students challenging the test have one opportunity to 
pass the test. If the test is not passed on the first 
attempt, the student must successfully complete the 
75-hour medication aide course to qualify to test 
again. 

Test blueprint The state test is timed and contains 85 multiple- 
choice questions. Each trainee has one and one-half 
hours in which to complete the test. The test is 
designed to measure knowledge in the following 
areas: 

 current drug classification, action, use, side
effects, adverse reactions, interactions and
nursing care for medications used to treat
commonly recurring health conditions affecting
body systems

 administering prescribed medications and
monitoring oxygen therapy and applying non-
sterile dressings

 legal, ethical and current practice

 communication

See also test manual, 

attestation and inventory 

form, included. Anyone who 

has any responsibility for the 

tests must sign and submit 

the attestation, and all 

program staff should 

download and maintain 

current copies of manuals. 
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 documentation

Written Test The written test for the medication aide course is  
provided to the sponsor by the department. Sponsors 
must request copies of the test from KDADS. The test 
consists of 85 questions. The student should be given 
one and one-half hours to complete the test. The pass 
score for the test is 65.  

The sponsor assumes responsibility for the 
security of the tests. The sponsor will notify KDADS 
immediately upon noticing a damaged, lost or missing 
test booklet. The sponsor may request 
replacement/additional copies from KDADS. (See 
Attestation and Inventory Form.) 

The sponsor assures that the test materials will 
be maintained in a secure and confidential 
manner at all times. (See Test Manual.) The sponsor 
must not discuss the content of the tests with anyone. 
The instructor may not review or proctor the tests. 
If notification is received by KDADS of valid 
complaints against you, or you fail to meet the 
responsibilities assigned to sponsors, your test 
administration privileges may be terminated. You will 
be notified of any complaints filed against you and 
given an opportunity to respond to the issues of the 
complaint. The sponsor will decide when the test is to 
be given and will assign a proctor to give the test. 
The Test Administration Manual for Proctors of 
the Medication Aide Test outlines the test 
administration procedures. The sponsor must provide 
an answer sheet for the test and the instructions for 
its use. The sponsor will be responsible for scoring 
the test.     

Disabilities Any candidate who has a: 

 physical disability

 learning disability

 psychological disability

which may require a reasonable accommodation to  
take the state test should make arrangements with 
the sponsor. The candidate must have performed in a 
satisfactory manner in both the 
didactic/classroom/theory and lab/clinical settings of 

Inventory forms should be 

filled out and submitted 

early in January, May and 

September of each year, 

as well as anytime there is 

a change in proctor or 

administrator. 
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the course, and successfully completed the 
performance evaluations. The candidates may not 
have the test read to them. 
 

Language provisions No oral tests are allowed for the medication aide  
tests. The student must demonstrate reading ability to 
be allowed to enroll in the course. 
 
The state test is available in only the English 
language. NOTE: Any candidate for whom English is 
a second language may use a bilingual language 
dictionary during the state test. Computer 
dictionaries and medical dictionaries are 
prohibited. 
 

CERTIFICATION 
  
What must be submitted to The instructor/sponsor must submit: 
HOC  

 Signed and completed 75-Hour Medication 
Aide Roster  

 Signed and completed 75-Hour Medication 
Aide Application Form(s)  

 $20.00 non-refundable fee for each student 
 

Rosters It is the responsibility of the course  
 instructor/sponsor to assure that all candidates  
 listed on the roster have met all the requirements 
 for the training course and passed the written 
 test. Therefore, the roster must be signed by the 
 course instructor/sponsor, not other agency 
 personnel, and sent to KDADS. 

 
What happens when the  Candidates whose names appear on the roster as 
test and course are  having successfully completed the course and the 
successfully completed? test will be listed on the Kansas Nurse Aide Registry 
 as being a certified medication aide. 
  
 On average, it takes two weeks from the time the 
 roster has been received for the department to place 
 the person on the Registry. Individuals should allow 
 15 days to lapse from the date the roster was 
 submitted before calling the department to check 
 the status of the certification. 
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What happens if the course  If a candidate fails the course, the candidate must  
not successfully  retake the course before taking the test. The name 
completed? should not be included on the roster. 

 
  
KANSAS NURSE AIDE The KNAR is a federally mandated program that 
REGISTRY (KNAR) tracks employment and training for aides in Kansas. A 
 unique aide identification number is issued to each 
 candidate who has successfully completed the 
 requirements for certification as a nurse aide. The 
 identification number that is assigned to an individual 
 by the department identifies the individual in all 
 training programs (i.e., certified nurse aide, certified 
 medication aide and certified home health aide). 

 
Abuse, Neglect, and The KNAR includes any information which prohibits  
Exploitation an aide from working in an adult care home. Each 
 adult care home must contact the registry prior to 
 hiring a nurse aide or a medication aide. The facility 
 may NOT employ a person with an administrative 
 confirmation on the registry of a finding of abuse, 
 neglect, or exploitation of a resident recorded after 
 April 1, 1992 or persons prohibited due to certain 
 findings on a criminal record check. 

 
Employment eligibility CMAs are eligible for employment for 24 months  

following the date the certification is issued. They 
must maintain current eligibility for employment as a 
CNA to work as a CMA. 
 
To remain eligible to work as a CMA, the CMA must 
complete ten hours of continuing education as 
specified in K.A.R. 26-50-40. The successful 
completion of the continuing education will allow the 
CMA to be eligible to work an additional two years. 
The CMA must take a continuing education course 
within every two year period to remain eligible to 
work. If their certification lapses, the CMA has a one 
year period (from the expiration date of their 
certification) in which to take a continuing education 
course to reinstate their certification. The CMA may 
not work if the certification has expired. After the 
certification has been expired for one year, the CMA 
must successfully pass the 75-hour course and test to 
become eligible for employment. 
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Explanation should be given to all students regarding 
the continuing education requirement for CMAs. Once 
the paperwork indicating successful completion of 
continuing education is submitted, HOC will record it 
on the computer system.  
 

Important points to convey Instructors should assure that students: 
to students 

 perform only those tasks for which they are 
competent 

 know that they MUST contact KDADS (whenever 
they move 

 understand the continuing education requirements 
  

 
MISCELLANEOUS 
Instructor information State-approved instructors are reminded of their 
update responsibility to update their personal instructor  

record with HOC whenever there is a change in 
mailing address, business or home telephone 
number, or legal change in name. 
 

Distance learning The department has developed guidelines 
technologies (DLT) conducting medication aide training using distance 
 learning technologies (DLT). The guidelines require 
 that the first two courses be done on a pilot basis. The 
 sponsor must submit a DLT proposal for approval by 
 the department in addition to the course approval 
 form. The guidelines are available on the KDADS 
 website.  

 
Web-based instruction The sponsor must submit a proposal for approval by 

the department in addition to the course approval 
form. The first two courses submitted by a particular 
sponsor, if approved, will be done on a pilot basis. 
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MEDICATION AIDE  
CONTINUING  
EDUCATION 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
Who may take the course? The student must: 

 be a certified medication aide with a certificate that 
was issued sometime in the past three years. 

 
 
Who may sponsor a course? Course sponsors must be: 

 post-secondary schools under the jurisdiction of 
the state board of regents 

 adult care homes 

 long-term care unit of a hospital 

 state-operated institutions for people with 
intellectual disability 

 professional health care associations approved by 
the licensing agency  

 
Instructor requirements An instructor must have the following qualifications: 
  

 Registered Nurse with current Kansas license with 
no pending or current disciplinary actions against 
that individual’s license and 

 2 years of clinical experience as a registered 
nurse. 

  
A copy of the approved instructor application should 
be retained by the instructor and a copy given to each 
sponsor conducting the training to show compliance 
with state laws. 
 
NOTE: The Instructor Application (available at 
KDADS website) may be submitted separately or may 
accompany the application for approval of the course. 
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COURSE DELIVERY 
Who is responsible? Course sponsors and course instructors carry a joint 

responsibility in fulfilling training requirements under 
state regulations. Each approved instructor for a 
medication aide training program is the primary 
person responsible for conducting training and 
assuring competency of trainees. Failure to fulfill any 
of these responsibilities could result in disciplinary 
action against either the course sponsor or the 
approved course instructor or concurrent disciplinary 
action against both the sponsor and the approved 
instructor as described in K.A.R. 26-50-32. 

Number of instructors There are instances where the course responsibilities 
are shared between two or more instructors, 
regardless of the number of students. This practice is 
acceptable, provided that the reason for having more 
than one instructor is identified by the sponsor, as 
well as how the responsibilities will be coordinated. 
One instructor must be designated as “lead” instructor 
to fulfill overall teaching responsibilities. Additional 
instructors must be approved by the department, and 
the course application must reflect the additional 
instructors. 

Supplemental instructors Qualified ancillary health professionals may be 
selected by the approved instructor to assist in 
conducting training for medication aides. For 
example, a Kansas licensed pharmacist actively 
working in the pharmacy field may assist the 
instructor by conducting a portion of the training. Any 
person providing training does so under the direct 
supervision of the approved course instructor. 

NOTE: The instructor should be present and easily 
accessible to trainees at all times during instruction. 
Use of qualified ancillary health professionals is for 
enhancement of the course instruction and is not to 
be substituted for the primary responsibilities of the 
approved course instructor. 
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What information is 
covered in the continuing The topic(s) may be chosen from the following list: 
education course? 

 new classes of drugs and new drugs

 new uses of drugs

 new methods of administering drugs

 alternative treatments such as herbs, acupuncture,
interaction with traditional drugs

 documentation

Curriculum The curriculum is developed by the instructor based 
on the topics listed above. 

Course Approval Process Applications for Approval of Training Courses go 
through the following process: 

 Sponsor or instructor completes the Application
for Approval of Training Course (available on
KDADS) and submits it to HOC at least three
weeks prior to the start date of the course.

 HOC reviews the application and approves,
disapproves or returns the application requesting
additional information.

 If the course is approved, a course approval
number is assigned. A copy of the approval notice
is returned to the sponsor with the course approval
number.

 If the course is disapproved, the application is
returned to the sponsor.

Careful completion of paperwork helps reduce delays 
in processing. 

An application must be submitted to the department 
at least three weeks prior to the beginning date of 
each course and must be approved prior to offering 
the course. As a matter of quality assurance and 
fairness, those course applications not meeting this 
time frame will be returned for new (later) start dates. 

Why is a course approval A copy of the approval notice with the course approval 
number important? number should be retained by the instructor. This  

course approval number should be referenced on all 
correspondence with the department regarding a 
particular class. 
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Didactic/classroom and The course consists of a minimum of ten hours of 
clinical instruction instruction. 

NOTE: Any change in class dates, instructors,  
classroom or clinical sites must be prior approved by 
the department. 

Class environment The classroom studies should be provided in a
classroom environment with appropriate equipment  
(computer, LCD projector, white boards, audio-visual 
supplies, etc.) for the instruction of the trainees. In 
licensed adult care homes where state-approved 
training courses are scheduled, there must be a 
separate, designated closed area for the classroom 
instruction. 

Class times must be within reasonable limits: no more 
than eight hours per day of instruction with lunchtime 
and breaks provided. Students may not be in facilities 
past 9:00 pm.  

Laboratory settings Clinical laboratories for trainee practice and  
performance include the use of a vacant resident 
room or simulated laboratory setting. Such settings 
afford the trainee opportunity to observe instructor 
demonstrations and give return demonstrations of the 
specific skills studied in the didactic/classroom 
setting. 

General delivery of the The approved instructor is responsible for 
training course ensuring that the delivery of the training is     
appropriate. appropriate. If the approved course instructor is a  

a full-time staff member or Director of Nursing (DON) 
in the adult care home where the course is taught, a 
designated licensed nurse should assume the regular 
staff duties of the approved instructor during the times 
of instruction. There can be no delegation of the 
instructor’s duties, and the DON must not teach while 
performing duties as DON. 

Equivalent training The sponsor/instructor will evaluate the nursing 
student’s  training and, if deemed equivalent, may submit 

documentation of training. 

College credits or vocational training may be 
approved as substantially equivalent if the course 
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content is substantially equivalent to the topic(s) listed 
in regulation K.A.R. 28-50-36: 

 new classes of drugs and new drugs

 new uses of drugs

 new methods of administering drugs

 alternative treatments such as herbs, acupuncture,
interaction with traditional drugs

 safety and administration of drugs

 documentation

UPDATING THE KNAR 

What must be submitted to For students who have successfully completed the 
HOC course, the instructor/sponsor must submit: 

 Medication Aide Continuation Education
Instruction Roster

 Medication Aide Continuing Education
Renewal Application Form(s)

 $20.00 non-refundable fee for each candidate

Rosters It is the responsibility of the course  
instructor/sponsor to assure that all candidates 
listed on the roster have met all the requirements 
for the training course. Therefore, the roster must 
be signed by the course instructor/sponsor, not other 
agency personnel, and sent to KDADS. 

What happens if the course Once the paperwork indicating successful completion 
is successfully completed? of continuing education is submitted, HOC list the 

individual’s continued certification status on the 
Kansas Nurse Aide Registry. The CMA is responsible 
for ensuring maintenance of their certification.  

What happens if the course If a student does not successfully complete the 
is not successfully  course, the name of the student should not be 
completed? included on the roster. 

Employment eligibility CMAs are eligible for employment for 24 months  
following the date their certification is issued. Both 
CMA and CNA certification must be active and in 
good standing for the aide to work as a medication 
aide. 

To remain eligible to work as a CMA, the CMA must 
complete ten hours of continuing education as 
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specified in K.A.R. 26-50-40. The successful 
completion of the continuing education will allow the 
CMA to be eligible to work an additional two years. 
The CMA must take a continuing education course 
within every two year period to remain eligible to 
work. If their certification lapses, the CMA has a one 
year grace period in which to take the continuing 
education course to reinstate their certification. After 
their certification has been expired three years, the 
CMA must successfully pass the 75-hour course and 
test to become eligible for employment. 

Explanation should be given to all students regarding 
the continuing education requirement for CMAs. 

Important points to convey Instructors should assure that students: 
to students 

 know that they must contact KDADS whenever
they move.

 understand the continuing education requirements.

MISCELLANEOUS 

Instructor information State-approved instructors are reminded of their 
update responsibility to update their personal instructor  

record with HOC whenever there is a change in 
mailing address, business or home telephone 
number, or legal change in name.  

Distance learning The department has developed guidelines for 
technologies (DLT) conducting medication aide training using distance 

learning technologies (DLT). The guidelines require 
that the first two courses be done on a pilot basis. The 
sponsor must submit a DLT proposal for approval by 
the department in addition to the course approval 
form. DLT guidelines are available on the KDADS 
website. 

Web-based instruction Guidelines have been developed for conducting 
medication aide continuing education by web. Web-
based instruction guidelines are available on the 
KDADS website. 
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technologies (DLT) conducting medication aide training using distance 
learning technologies (DLT). The guidelines require 
that the first two courses be done on a pilot basis. The 
sponsor must submit a DLT proposal for approval by 
the department in addition to the course approval 
form. DLT guidelines are available at 
http://www.kdads.ks.gov/commissions/scc/health-
occupations-credentialing.

Web-based instruction Guidelines have been developed for conducting 
medication aide continuing education by web. Web-
based instruction guidelines are available at 
http://www.kdads.ks.gov/commissions/scc/health-
occupations-credentialing.

LIST OF REQUIRED FORMS 

The following forms should be downloaded from http://www.kdads.ks.gov/
commissions/scc/health-occupations-credentialing. Sponsors and instructors should

check the website occasionally to be sure you have the most current versions. 

Kansas Regulations:  KAR 28-29-169a through KAR 28-39-169c 

Instructor Application for CNA, CMA and HHA Training Courses 

Application for Approval of Training Course 

75-Hour Certified Medication Aide Instructor Roster 

75-Hour Certified Medication Aide Application Form 

Certified Medication Aide Continuing Education Instructor Roster 

Documentation of Training for Certified Medication Aide Renewal 

Application 

http://www.kdheks.gov/hoc
http://www.kdheks.gov/hoc
http://www.kdheks.gov/hoc


22 

APPENDICES 



23 



24 

CERTIFIED MEDICATION AIDE TEST MANUAL 

February 2011 

Health Occupations Credentialing 

612 S Kansas Avenue 
Topeka, Kansas 66603 

785-296-6958
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SECTION A 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SPONSORS AND INSTRUCTORS OF THE 

CERTIFIED MEDICATION AIDE TEST 

TEST REQUIREMENTS 

Students who have successfully completed the course may take the test no more than two 

times before they must repeat the course to qualify to test again.  Students who repeat the 

course will have two more attempts to complete the test.  The course may be repeated as often 

as desired. 

Students challenging the test have one opportunity to pass the test.  If the test is not passed on 

the first attempt, the student must successfully complete the course to qualify to test again. 

DISABILITIES 

Any candidate who has a: 

$ physical disability 
$ learning disability 
$ psychological disability 

which may require a reasonable accommodation to take the state test should make 

arrangements with the sponsor/instructor.  The candidate must have performed in a satisfactory 

manner in both the didactic/classroom/theory and laboratory/clinical settings of the course and 

successfully completed the performance evaluations.  The candidates may not have the test 

read to them. 

LANGUAGE PROVISIONS 

No oral tests are allowed for the certified medication aide tests.  The student must demonstrate 

reading ability to be allowed to enroll in the course. 

The state test is available in only the English language.  NOTE: Any candidate for whom 

English is a second language may use a bilingual language dictionary during the state test. 

Computer dictionaries and medical dictionaries are prohibited. 

ADMINISTRATION AND SCORING OF THE TESTS 

The reusable test booklets and scoring keys for the certified medication aide course are 

provided to the sponsor/instructor by the department.  
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The sponsor/instructor assumes responsibility for the security of the test booklets and the 

scoring keys.  The test materials must be maintained in a secure and confidential manner at all 

times.  The sponsor/instructor must not discuss the test content with anyone.  Anyone who 

works with the administration of the tests, including sponsors/instructors and proctors, 

will sign an attestation that they understand and agree to comply with the test security 

requirements.  If notification is received by KDADS of valid complaints against the sponsor/

instructor, the test administration privileges may be terminated.  The sponsor/instructor will be 

notified of any complaints filed and given an opportunity to respond to the issues of the 

complaint. 

A form is included in this manual for use in maintaining test security. This form should be 

submitted 3 times yearly by the sponsor: January, April and September. It should also be 

submitted anytime there is a change in proctor or administrator. The intent of this form is 

to ensure that both sponsors of programs and HOC always know where every copy of the State 

test is, that it is secure and accounted for, and that all who have responsibility for the tests have 

submitted attestations regarding test security. Changes in proctors should be noted on the form, 

however, any changes in program staff should also be immediately reported to the department. 

The written test consists of 85 questions.  The student should be given one and one-half hours 

to complete the test. There are 3 forms of the test, and the forms should be rotated for security 

purposes. For example, if tests are given once each month, Form 1 would be used the first 

month, Form 2 the second month, and Form 3 the third month. Students who re-test are to be 

given a different test form. 

The sponsor/instructor will decide when the test will be given and assign a proctor to give the 

test.   Section B, Instructions for Proctors, is included in this manual.  

The sponsor/instructor must provide an answer sheet for the test and will be responsible for 

scoring the test.   The pass score for each form is 65. 
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ATTESTATION 

All who have responsibility for tests need to submit this form to Health Occupations Credentialing. 

I agree to the following test security measures: 

1. I will secure the certified medication aide tests and keys to ensure confidentiality.

2. I will release the tests from this secured place only for the administration of the test.

3. I will assure that the tests will not be reviewed except at test time by the individuals

taking the test.

4. I will return the tests to the designated secure place following testing. (Briefcases and

car trunks should not be considered secure locations.)

5. I will notify HOC of missing tests and/or the need for replacement tests. Damaged tests

will be returned to HOC to be destroyed.

6. I will notify HOC if the person named below is no longer responsible for the tests and the

name of the person responsible. (Each person who handles the tests must sign an

attestation, and when you are no longer responsible for tests, the department should be

notified so that we may note the attestation.)

7. I will complete the Test Number Inventory Form in January, April and September and

submit it to HOC. (Included in manual)

I understand that failure to meet the responsibilities outlined above may result in termination of 

test administration privileges. 

___________________________________ ___________________________________ 

Name Signature 

___________________________________ ___________________________________ 

Date Name of Sponsoring Entity 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Address 

I will need _______ copies of each form of the medication aide tests. 

Please send this form to: 
Tabetha Mojica
Health Occupations Credentialing 

612 S Kansas Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612 

Fax: 785-296-3075;  tabetha.mojica@kdads.ks.gov

mailto:mflin@kdheks.gov
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SECTION B 

 INSTRUCTIONS FOR PROCTORS 

OF THE CERTIFIED MEDICATION AIDE TESTS 

February 2011 

Health Occupations Credentialing 

Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services
612 S Kansas Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66603
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INTRODUCTION 

The proctor=s role is an important part of the success of the medication aide certification 

process. Your responsibilities and duties help the department to meet state requirements.  The 

Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) certifies approximately 1,300

medication aides annually.  In administering the test, the proctor helps meet the staffing needs 

of long-term care facilities across the state of Kansas. 

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE PROCTOR 

The proctor assures that the examination materials will be maintained in a secure and 

confidential manner at all times.  All proctors must have submitted the attestation regarding test 

securty.  Test booklets are to be locked in a secure place with access ONLY by the proctor or a 

designated agent of KDADS.  The tests are released from this secured place only for the

administration of the test. They should not be stored in briefcases or cars longer than is 

necessary to transport them to and from a testing site. 

The proctor will: 

a) administer the tests.

b) arrange the room to accommodate candidate seating so that adequate space is

provided between candidates to avoid the possibility of cheating.  A table for the

proctor=s use must be provided for distributing, maintaining and collecting test

materials.  The testing site should be one of reasonable comfort with minimal

distractions.

c) remain in the room, monitoring the testing process throughout the test.  Proctors

will note and report any significant instances of testing irregularity.

d) adhere to the scheduled time for the test.  The proctor will allow one hour and 30

minutes for the test.

e) assure that the tests will not be reviewed except at test time by individuals taking

the test.

f) complete the Test Inventory Form each January, April and September and

submit it to HOC.

g) return damaged tests to HOC to be destroyed and request replacement tests.

The numbers of the replacement tests should be recorded on the Test Inventory

Form.
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ADMINISTRATION 

There are 3 forms of the test, and the forms should be rotated for security purposes. For 
example, if tests are given once each month, Form 1 would be used the first month, Form 2 the 
second month, and Form 3 the third month. Students who re-test are to be given a different test 
form.  

Carefully read the instruction in quotation marks to the candidates.  Allow time for questions. 

1. ARemove all materials from your desk.@  Hand the candidate a test booklet and an

answer sheet.

2. APlease do not discuss the questions on the test with anyone.@

3. AAt the completion of each test, return the test booklet and answer sheet to the proctor.@

PRE-TEST INSTRUCTIONS 

1. ARespect the other candidates and test procedures.  No talking to anyone during the

test.@

2. AIf you need to go to the restroom or get a drink, leave everything on the table.  Go and

come as quietly as possible.  Only one candidate may leave the room at a time.@

3. AWhen you finish the test, bring the test booklet and answer sheet to me.  If two

candidates are already at the table, wait to turn in your materials.@

4. AYou will have one hour and 30 minutes to complete the test.@

5. AAre there any questions?@

PROCEDURES DURING THE TEST 

During the test, the proctor will: 

1. WALK AMONG CANDIDATES

2. CANDIDATE REST ROOM PRIVILEGES - Only one candidate may leave the room at a

time for rest room or water fountain privileges.  (The proctor provides directions for

locating restrooms and water fountains in close proximity to the test room.)  Do not allow

the candidate to take anything with them from the room nor return with anything.

PROCEDURE TO BE DONE AT THE END OF THE TEST 

At the conclusion of the test, the proctor assures that: 

___ Candidates return the test booklets and answer sheets and leave the room quietly. 
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Please send this form to: Tabetha Mojica
Health Occupations Credentialing

612 s Kansas Ave.
Topeka, Kansas 66603
Fax: 785-296-3075;  

Kansas Certified Medication Aide Test Number Inventory Form 

Name, Address, Phone and Email of Proctor who inventoried tests (Print): 

Please inventory tests in January, May and September of each year, and any time there is a change in 
proctor. Please remember that any new proctor, and anyone else who has contact with State tests, must 
sign a security attestation and send it to Tabetha Mojica at the above address. The security of State
certification tests is vital to the integrity of training programs. Thank you for helping us maintain security 
by returning this form and completing all attestations at the appropriate times. (Please check each 
number. Do not assume by the first and last number that all are there.  Note that all damaged tests need 
to be returned to the above address to be destroyed.) 

Test form and 
numbers: 
eg. 
Form 11-1, 
100001-
100010. 

Test form and 
numbers: 
eg. 
Form 11-2.... 

Test form 
and 
numbers: 
eg. 
Form 11-3.... 

Address where 
tests are being 
kept secured 

Please note 
any returned 
or 
received test 
numbers since 
last inventory. 

Date of 
Inventory 

Initials of 
proctor 
signing off 
on 
inventory 

mailto:mflin@kdheks.gov



